METS Curriculum

The METS service strategy is based on Carol Dweck’s Growth Mindset Theory that intelligence is malleable and can be increased through effort and purposeful engagement. METS Students learn how their mindset can help develop their own intelligence and brain development.

METS Curriculum Themes
There are three primary themes to the METS curriculum: Aspirations, Transitions, and Resiliency, and while all three continue throughout each student’s entire time with METS, they do have grade level focuses.

Grades 6-7, Aspirations – Early intervention is the key to METS’ success. By focusing the aspirations of 6th and 7th graders on college success, METS illustrates the connection between academic success and each student’s future.

Grades 8-9, Transitions – The middle school to high school transition comes at a time when students are undergoing significant cognitive, emotional, and physical changes. The METS Transition theme creates opportunities for positive peer network development and builds strategies for organization and time management

Grades 10-12, Resiliency – The METS curriculum addresses ways to successfully manage life and adapt to change and stressful events in healthy and constructive ways.

School Specific Topics
METS advisors work together with target school staff to identify specific topics that will benefit METS students. As each school is different, so is the curriculum for students. Here are a few examples of activities METS students may see:

METS College Jeopardy Game

FAME’s Claim Your Future Game (Formerly known as Get A Life)